Old Homes Tour Preview
Fred and Whitney Wiedner
1621 Main St • Built 1904 • 2133 sq ft
Fred and Whitney are the fourth owners of this stunning Neoclassical home with many Craftsman-style influences including beamed ceilings, built-in bookshelves with leaded glass doors flanking the fireplace, pocket doors, vintage light fixtures, original wood floors and more! French doors lead out to the spacious enclosed side porch. The thoughtfully-designed curved patio provides another relaxing outdoor space. Three bedrooms on second floor with potential for fourth. The arched entry portico with Ionic columns creates a grand entrance.
Gregory and Laura Nitcher
712 Highland Ave • Built 1850 • 6570 sq ft
The Chadwick/Aull House leaves its mark on the history of Lafayette County and the City of Lexington. Built in 1850, this brick Greek Revival will make a lasting impression on all who step into its center hall. The Greek ornamental trimmed interior is impressive and in very original condition including doors, locks, built-ins and more. Two-story porches flank the main house and offer great views of the Missouri River and valley. This home proudly stands the test of time, and Greg and Laura have been busy updating the landscaping and more.
William and Cheri Havrish
1502 Reed Ln • Built 1883 • 2316 sq ft
This historic Second Empire home is very intact. The hard restoration work has been completed including all new wiring, zoned HVAC, new plumbing, new slate roof, chimneys rebuilt, and more. The curvilinear vergeboard, circular window in gables, decorated brick round arched lintels and 3-sided bay are all highlighted on the National Register. William and Cheri have been hard restoring additional features and researching details on their home. There is a brick dated 1840 in the home! And an abstract that goes back to 1868, with some dates reflecting 1858. The property seemed in constant flux and used to settle debt with various deed-owners such as William Hunter, Thomas Alford, Robert Aull, Beatty, Burden, Hook, Shewalter, Fulkerson, Noel, Wilcoxon, Hoge, and Schaberg.
403 Highland Ave • Built 1853 • 1542 sqft + cabin
This home has well documented chronology from 1850 when the property was owned by Joseph and Ludewina (Wesselman) Ewigman. In 1855, Frederick Miller and Mary Scullin bought the property. He was a coal digger from Germany and she was from Switzerland. As a widow, she married Christian Weidman, a German ropemaker, that enlisted in the Civil War, a corporal in the Company E 10th Missouri Cav. Mary died in the home in 1910 and her son Adolph Miller continued living in the home by himself and worked as a tinner at a hardware store, until his death in 1930. All of these individuals can be found buried at Machpelah.
Brad and Tami Worthington
1717 Bloom St • Built 1890 • 1632 sqft
This Victorian cottage is affectionately referred to as "Lili of Lexington" by its new owners. Built in the 1890's, this wonderfully bright and deceivingly spacious historical home is a great example of how an old home can become perfectly outfitted to accommodate today's more modern family lifestyle. Lili boasts beautiful transoms above every doorway, three lovely porches, cozy patio and large fenced yard for outdoor entertaining. Brad and Tami have recently finished the attic space to add 1000 sq ft, with more projects planned this year.
Lexington Tourism Bureau | 1110 Main St. | Lexington, MO 64067 | 660-259-4711 | 866-837-4711 | tourism@VisitLexingtonMo.com
© 2017 Lexington Tourism Bureau