Other Tour Properties Preview
Featured in the Old Homes Tour September 9 and 10
Lexington Historical Museum
13th Street • Built 1846
The museum has been housed in the 1846 Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Lexington since it's opening in 1976. The museum has a collection of early Lexington pictures, Pony Express items, and historical memorabilia related to steamboats, coal mining, Osage Indians, and the Wentworth Military Academy.
A sword that James A. Mulligan turned over in surrender, but later allowed to keep per orders of General Sterling Price, is on display. The historical records show it was stolen by a young boy shortly after Mulligan's surrender and hidden in his father's farm near Lexington. It was returned to a lawyer around 1900, who returned it to the Mulligan family in 1912 to the widow of Colonial Mulligan. Her daughter returned it to Lexington in 1917, where it stayed in a bank vault for 50 years. The family later donated the elaborately decorated sword to the Lexington Historical Museum in 1967. The sword was originally presented to Mulligan by the city of Chicago.
1001 Main St • Built 1849
Henry Renick, who was also the Justice of the Peace, built the first courthouse in 1824-25 on the square, which was in use until 1832. The second courthouse was built in 1835 and the three-story building was regarded as one of the finest in Missouri, as three-story buildings were rare. The building was kept in use until 1849, when the present courthouse was occupied.
The business district and courthouse moved one mile west after the town incorporated, and in 1847 the court appropriated funds for the third and present courthouse, with construction complete in 1849 at a cost of $12,000. In 1854, a small annex was built to house the clerk’s office, followed by a two-story annex in the 1880s, and a two story addition on the East side at the start of the 1900s.
During the Battle of Lexington in 1861, the courthouse was fired upon, leaving a cannonball in the column. A Memorial to Lafayette County Veterans is on the Courthouse square.
111 S 11th St • Built 1939
The Municipal Auditorium, as the LEX was originally known, was built in 1939 as one of thousands of Works Progress Administration projects around the country. The Art Deco architecture was for years a part of the venue's charm. The building hosted thousands of events between 1939 and 2009, when it was closed for lack of ADA accommodations. For 70 years, the LEX was the hub of our community, with concerts, plays, and many other events. The LEX is open again, and we're bringing back all that the LEX once was and more!
1101 Delaware St • Built 1853
Built by Oliver Anderson in 1853, this house was once considered “the best arranged dwelling west of St. Louis.” The Greek Revival style home features cast-iron Corinthian columns and walnut woodwork. During the Battle of Lexington, the house was used as a hospital by both sides and withstood a 3-day battle. Today the home is restored and furnished in mid-19th century fashion, but still bears the scars of the shot and shell that once hammered it.
Lexington Tourism Bureau | 1110 Main St. | Lexington, MO 64067 | 660-259-4711 | 866-837-4711 | tourism@VisitLexingtonMo.com
© 2017 Lexington Tourism Bureau